Braganca, Dujardin repeat as Pawtucket Open champs

Braganca, Dujardin repeat as Pawtucket Open champs

Pawtucket’s Molly Tierney, left, and Katherine Braganca pose for a picture with their runner-up trophies during the post-match ceremonies after suffering a three-set loss in the women’s doubles championship match of the 44th annual Pawtucket Open tennis tournament at Slater Park. Braganca also repeated as the women’s singles champion.
Competitive field brings out its best in 44th annual tourney

PAWTUCKET – Pawtucket’s Katherine Braganca, who is a sophomore on the Rhode Island College women’s tennis team, recently repeated as the women’s singles champion of the 44th annual Pawtucket Open tennis tournament at Slater Park by posting a 1-6, 6-0, (10-8) victory over Melanie Atwood in the title match.

Braganca also teamed up with Pawtucket’s Molly Tierney in the women’s doubles competition, but they saw their bid for a third straight championship come up short in the finals, as they suffered a 4-6, 7-6 (3), 6-3 defeat to the team of Sue Bacon and Monique Collins.

In the men’s doubles competition, the team of North Attleboro’s Hayden Miller and Tim Miller bounced back from their loss in last year’s finals to defeat the squad of Pawtucket’s Todd Gilheeny and Matt Dipippo, 1-6, 7-5, 6-3. Gilheeney was on the doubles team that won last year’s title.

The championship matches in the men’s competition also saw Pawtucket’s Jean-Paul Dujardin repeat as the 4.0/4.5 champion by defeating Terry LaPierre, 6-3, 6-4, and Sam Narayama roll past Brian Gill for the 3.0/3.5 championship, 6-1, 6-3.

“Special thanks should be given to Dennis Corain for organizing and facilitating this tournament,” said Parks and Recreation Director John Blais. “The Parks and Recreation Division is extremely grateful for his participation and commitment to making this tradition a successful event.”

Pawtucket’s Jean-Paul Dujardin, left, holds up his championship trophy after defeating Terry LaPierre, right, in the men’s 4.0/4.5 championship match. Joining them for the awards presentation is the tournament’s organizer, Dennis Corain, center.